top of page

BOArd of management

Unlike most Student Unions, the GUU has no sabbatical officers. Instead, the Union's affairs are controlled on behalf of the membership by a 27 member board of management, featuring 18 elected student positions, 7 alumni positions and 2 ex-officio seats for the President of the Glasgow University Sports Association and the Past President.

More info about what we do.




Lina Leonhard


Jago MacInnes
Honorary Secretary


Oliver Chan
Assistant Honorary Secretary


additional photos (1).png

Convener of Debates
Rhea Abraham

additional photos (2).png

Convener of Games
Rebecca Millar Castillo


Convener of Libraries
Rochelle Chlala


Convener of Entertainments
Mae Lucas


Convener of Communications
Amy Herrick

Vice presidents

additional photos.png

Nicola Wilkinson


Gavin Muir

Honorary Treasurer


Christopher Bush, CA

Former Student Members

Imogen Dewar


Helen Lambie


Jag Kooner


Rob McMillan

The 3 person executive committee is made up of the President, Honorary Secretary and Assistant Honorary Secretary. The President chairs the board and is responsible for special projects, external communications and external relations, whilst the Honorary Secretary is responsible for day to day operations, membership experience and security & licensing matters, as well as organising flagship events such as Freshers Week and Daft Friday, supported by the Assistant Honorary Secretary, who is responsible for managing the board and supporting them in operating the Union, whilst also handling the Union's relationships with affiliated clubs and societies.


The executive liaise with the building management daily to organise operations, and are supported by 2 alumni Vice Presidents (each elected for 2 year terms with one up for re-election each year) and the Honorary Treasurer, who provide strategic guidance.


5 Conveners operate below this, managing their own committees of Debates, Games, LibrariesEntertainments, and Communications, made up of Union members, which organise regular events during term-time.


10 Present Student Members are elected, 5 per year on a 2 year term, to represent the members and partake in operational committees ranging from Student Welfare to Sustainability. 4 Former Student Members round off the board, providing a voice for the Union's alumni members and providing experience and support for the student members carrying out projects.


As a Board, we are always interested in hearing your comments or suggestions. Please feel free to get in touch using the emails above or simply by dropping in and asking the Porter to speak to one of us.

BoM more info
bottom of page